---
title: "Penn State Health posts $131.2M operating gain on $5B revenue in FY2026"
id: "news-news-beckers-hospital-review-7af0c5089f76b91821828975"
canonical_url: "https://medichelpline.com/news/news-news-beckers-hospital-review-7af0c5089f76b91821828975"
content_type: "medical_news_article"
category: "Financial Management"
source_name: "Becker's Hospital Review"
source_url: "https://www.beckershospitalreview.com/finance/penn-state-health-posts-131m-operating-gain-2-6-margin-in-fy-2026-7-things-to-know/"
published_at: "2026-09-11T19:03:27.000Z"
license: "CC-BY-NC-4.0 / Informational Use"
---
# Penn State Health posts $131.2M operating gain on $5B revenue in FY2026
## Metadata & Source Attribution
- **Canonical URL:** https://medichelpline.com/news/news-news-beckers-hospital-review-7af0c5089f76b91821828975
- **Category:** [Financial Management](https://medichelpline.com/news/financial-management.md)
- **Reporting Source:** Becker's Hospital Review
- **Original Source URL:** [Read Original Article](https://www.beckershospitalreview.com/finance/penn-state-health-posts-131m-operating-gain-2-6-margin-in-fy-2026-7-things-to-know/)
- **Published At:** 2026-09-11T19:03:27.000Z
## Executive Summary & Key Highlights
- Penn State Health, based in Hershey, Pa., reported an **$131.2 million** operating gain on **$5 billion** in revenue for the fiscal year ended June 30. - The system’s **operating income** increased 77% year over year, marking a sizable improvement from the prior fiscal year. - The results are drawn from the health system’s audited financial statements; additional line-item details were not reported in the source. - The operating margin for the fiscal year was reported as 2.6% in the headline of the source, though the source body provided the operating gain, revenue and percent change in operating income. - The announcement reflects performance for the fiscal year ended June 30; the source did not provide further breakdowns by hospital, service line or nonoperating items. - No forward-looking guidance, management commentary, cost drivers or specific factors behind the improvement were provided in the source article. - The published report is a fiscal-year audited financial statement summary; the source did not include comparative dollar figures for the prior year beyond the 77% increase in operating income.
## In-Depth Reporting & Editorial Analysis
## Penn State Health posts $131.2 million operating gain for fiscal year ended June 30 Hershey, Pa.-based **Penn State Health** reported an **$131.2 million** operating gain on **$5 billion** in revenue for the fiscal year that ended June 30, according to the system’s audited financial statements. The result represents a notable improvement from the prior fiscal year. The source also notes that **operating income** climbed **77%** year over year. The fiscal-year operating margin referenced in the report’s headline was 2.6%, while the underlying audited statements provided the operating gain, revenue and the percentage increase in operating income cited above. ## What the numbers show The audited financial summary released by the system indicates stronger operating performance in FY2026 compared with the previous fiscal year. Key figures reported in the source are: - Operating gain: **$131.2 million** - Total revenue: **$5 billion** - Year-over-year change in operating income: **77%** increase - Reported operating margin (headline): 2.6% Beyond those items, the source did not provide a full set of line-item results, such as net income, expense categories, operating cash flow, or nonoperating gains and losses. ## Why the change matters An operating gain and a positive operating margin indicate that a health system’s core patient-care activities produced more revenue than expenses during the fiscal year. For hospital systems, operating results affect capital spending capacity, debt service, credit ratings and strategic investments. The source’s figures suggest Penn State Health moved from a weaker operating position in the prior year to a materially improved operating outcome in FY2026, as reflected by the 77% rise in operating income. The source did not spell out the drivers behind the improvement. Details such as changes in patient volumes, payer mix, reimbursement rates, cost controls, labor expenses, supply costs, or one-time items were not reported. The audited statements were cited as the source of the headline figures, but the article did not include management commentary or a breakdown by service line or facility. ## Context and limitations of the reported figures The figures reported come from audited financial statements, which typically include comprehensive schedules and notes. However, the source article provided only select summary metrics. The following items were not reported by the source and therefore are not available here: - A complete breakdown of operating revenues and operating expenses by category - Comparative dollar amounts for the prior fiscal year beyond the stated 77% increase in operating income - Nonoperating revenue or expense items, including investment returns, philanthropy or grants - Cash flow, days cash on hand, debt levels or changes in capital expenditures - Management discussion of performance drivers or strategic actions taken during the year Because those details were not reported in the source, readers seeking a fuller financial picture should consult Penn State Health’s full audited financial statements or the system’s official financial disclosures. ## What the source did — and did not — report The source article reported the headline metrics from Penn State Health’s audited statements: the operating gain of **$131.2 million**, total revenue of **$5 billion**, a **77%** year-over-year increase in operating income and an operating margin cited at 2.6%. It did not provide itemized financial tables, management commentary, or explanations for the swing in operating performance. ## What may come next The source did not include forward-looking guidance, plans for capital projects, balance-sheet actions, or management statements about priorities for the coming fiscal year. Any implications for credit ratings, capital spending, or strategic initiatives would require additional details that were not supplied in the source article. ## Where to find more information For readers who want a deeper view of Penn State Health’s fiscal 2026 performance, the most reliable next steps are to review the health system’s complete audited financial statements and any accompanying management discussion and analysis. Those documents typically include a full accounting of revenue and expense categories, notes on one-time items, and management’s explanation of performance trends — items the source did not report. ## Bottom line Penn State Health’s audited results for the fiscal year ended June 30 show an operating gain of **$131.2 million** on **$5 billion** in revenue, with operating income up **77%** from the prior year and a reported operating margin of 2.6%. The source article limits its reporting to these headline figures and does not provide the detailed breakdowns or management commentary that would explain the drivers behind the improvement.
## Navigation
- [← Back to Financial Management News](https://medichelpline.com/news/financial-management.md)
- [← All Medical News Categories](https://medichelpline.com/news.md)
## Medical & Regulatory Disclaimer

> [!CAUTION]
> MedicHelpline content is structured for research, educational, and professional discovery purposes. It does not constitute individual medical advice, clinical diagnosis, or treatment recommendations.
> Always verify dosing, contraindications, and regulatory alerts against official product labeling and primary regulatory sources before clinical decision-making.