The PubMed entry reports the PVI‑SHAM‑AF trial titled “Catheter ablation for symptomatic atrial fibrillation (PVI‑SHAM‑AF): a randomised, double‑blind, sham‑controlled, multicentre trial.” The citation indicates the study was published in Lancet (2026 Sep 12;408[10559]:999–1009) with DOI 10.1016/S0140-6736(26)01558-8 and was available online (Epub) from 2026 Aug 30. The article lists a large collaborative author group under the heading PVI‑SHAM‑AF Investigators.
The bibliographic information emphasizes that this is a multicentre, randomised, double‑blind, sham‑controlled clinical trial evaluating catheter ablation for symptomatic atrial fibrillation (AF). The PubMed record includes the title, author and collaborator names, affiliations, and links to full text sources, but the supplied excerpt does not include the trial abstract or results.
The PubMed metadata classifies the study as a randomized controlled trial and specifies its blinding as double‑blind with a sham control. Beyond those design descriptors, the provided excerpt does not report the trial protocol details. The following methodological elements were not available in the supplied source text and therefore cannot be stated from this record:
Because these core methodological items are not present in the excerpt, readers should consult the full published article for complete methods.
The PubMed entry lists a large collaborative group of investigators and multiple institutional affiliations. Lead or corresponding authors and primary affiliated centres named in the record include University Hospital Leipzig (Department of Cardiology), Heart Centre Leipzig (Department of Electrophysiology), CLINICAL TRIAL CENTRE ZKS Leipzig, and several other cardiology and electrophysiology departments across Germany. At least one Polish centre (Medical University of Silesia, Zabrze, Poland) is listed among affiliations.
The investigators list shows broad involvement from academic and high‑volume electrophysiology centres and identifies many individual contributors and their institutional departments.
The title and trial name indicate the active intervention was pulmonary vein isolation (PVI) via catheter ablation for symptomatic AF, with a sham control arm incorporated into a double‑blind design. The PubMed excerpt does not provide procedural specifics such as energy source (radiofrequency or cryoablation), lesion sets, peri‑procedural anticoagulation, use of sedation or general anesthesia, or what the sham procedure entailed. Those details are not reported in the provided content.
Although the trial is likely to have prespecified primary and secondary endpoints related to symptom relief, AF recurrence or burden, quality of life, and safety, the PubMed excerpt does not state which outcomes were chosen, their definitions, or the time points for assessment. Specific endpoints and statistical analysis plans were not available in this source fragment.
The supplied PubMed content contains no numerical results, efficacy data, or statistical analyses from the trial. No information on primary endpoint outcomes, between‑group comparisons, confidence intervals, p values, effect sizes, or subgroup analyses is present in the excerpt. Therefore, efficacy conclusions cannot be drawn from this record alone.
The excerpt does not include safety data, rates of procedural complications, serious adverse events, or monitoring procedures. Information on adverse‑event adjudication, independent safety oversight, or procedural morbidity and mortality was not reported in the provided text.
Because the PubMed excerpt includes bibliographic and collaborator information but omits abstract and outcome data, interpretation of efficacy, safety, and clinical impact cannot be undertaken from this source alone. The trial’s randomized, double‑blind, sham‑controlled design is notable and addresses important biases in procedural trials, but the absence of reported results in the excerpt prevents assessment of whether the intervention demonstrated benefit or harm, or how results compare with prior evidence.
The provided PubMed fragment does not include trial registration numbers, funding sources, or the conflict‑of‑interest statement. Those items are commonly reported in the full article and should be consulted there for transparency and assessment of potential biases.
Note: This summary adheres strictly to the information available in the supplied PubMed page excerpt. Key trial details, methods, results, and conclusions were not present in that excerpt and therefore are explicitly not reported here. For complete methods, outcomes, and interpretation, consult the full Lancet publication or the PubMed full‑text links.