The Food and Drug Administration has approved Isembyld (apitegromab) as the first therapy expressly aimed at addressing muscle loss in people with spinal muscular atrophy (SMA). The approval marks a regulatory milestone for an approach that focuses on improving muscle function rather than altering SMN biology directly.
The STAT report announcing the approval highlights the clinical and symbolic significance of the decision for the SMA community. The article was published Sept. 11, 2026, by Jonathan Wosen and is a STAT+ exclusive.
According to the STAT coverage, the FDA approval authorizes Isembyld for use in adults and children aged 2 years and older who are currently receiving therapies that target SMN2 — the gene central to motor neuron function in SMA. The approval therefore positions Isembyld as an adjunctive therapy to existing SMN2-targeting treatments rather than a standalone replacement.
The source does not include additional label specifics such as dosing instructions, contraindications, or detailed eligibility criteria from the FDA approval documents. Those elements were not reported in the STAT article.
STAT reports that a late-stage clinical trial found a statistically significant difference between patients receiving Isembyld in combination with an SMN2-targeting drug and those receiving placebo plus an SMN2-targeting drug. Over the course of one year, young patients given Isembyld demonstrated improvements in motor skills, while patients in the placebo arm experienced decline.
The article states the between-group difference reached statistical significance but does not provide trial size, absolute or relative effect sizes, specific motor scales used, p values, or subgroup analyses. Safety outcomes, adverse-event rates, and longer-term follow-up data were not reported in the source and therefore are not described here.
The STAT piece frames Isembyld’s mechanism in the context of myostatin inhibition. Scholar Rock’s CEO described the approval as unlocking the potential of myostatin inhibition after decades of unsuccessful attempts across the industry. This situates Isembyld as a therapy targeting muscle biology — aiming to preserve or increase muscle mass and strength — complementary to neuron-directed SMN2 therapies.
The source does not supply detailed mechanistic data, biomarkers, or preclinical evidence from the development program. Those specifics were not reported in the STAT article.
In a company press release quoted in the STAT article, David Hallal, Scholar Rock’s chief executive officer, called the FDA approval “a defining moment for the SMA community” and described Isembyld as a therapeutic breakthrough following long-standing industry challenges with myostatin inhibition.
No additional external expert commentary, patient perspectives, or regulatory agency statements beyond the approval announcement were included in the STAT piece.
The STAT article reports the core facts of the approval and the trial’s principal clinical finding but omits many operational and clinical details required for a full appraisal. Specifically, the source does not report:
For clinicians and decision-makers seeking comprehensive data on Isembyld, its benefit–risk profile, and practical prescribing information, consultation of the FDA approval letter, the drug label, Scholar Rock’s regulatory filings, and the primary trial publication or clinicaltrials.gov entry will be necessary. Those sources were not summarized in the STAT article and thus are outside the facts presented here.
The STAT report announces the FDA’s approval of Isembyld as the first therapy targeting muscle loss in SMA for patients aged 2 years and older who are already on SMN2-targeting treatments. A late-stage trial demonstrated statistically significant motor-skill improvement in young patients after one year when Isembyld was added to an SMN2 therapy, while placebo-treated patients declined. Scholar Rock’s leadership framed the approval as a breakthrough for myostatin inhibition in SMA. Detailed efficacy metrics, safety data, and full label contents were not reported in the source and require review of the FDA documents and primary clinical-trial reports for complete clinical interpretation.