Early neurological deterioration (END) is associated with worse outcomes in patients who suffer high‑risk non‑disabling ischemic cerebrovascular events (HR‑NICE). Dual antiplatelet therapy has been used to reduce recurrent ischemic events after minor stroke and high‑risk transient ischemic attack, but the commonly used P2Y12 inhibitor clopidogrel has efficacy limitations related to genetic variability in metabolic activation. Specifically, CYP2C19 gene polymorphisms can substantially reduce clopidogrel activation and its antiplatelet effect in a subset of patients.
This trial was conceived to test whether an alternative P2Y12 inhibitor, ticagrelor, given at a low dose (60 mg twice daily) in combination with aspirin, would be superior to clopidogrel plus aspirin for preventing early neurological deterioration within the first 7 days after HR‑NICE onset, while not increasing bleeding risk.
The study reported on PubMed was a multicenter, prospective, randomized, open‑label, blinded‑endpoint clinical trial conducted in China. It is described as randomized with blinded endpoint assessment, indicating central or masked adjudication of primary outcomes despite open‑label treatment assignment.
The PubMed record identifies the publication source as J Neurol and provides trial administrative details including DOI and PMID, author list, and institutional affiliations across neurology departments and research centers in Dalian, China.
According to the abstract, eligible patients were those with HR‑NICE who presented within 24 hours of symptom onset. The exact inclusion and exclusion criteria, the operational definition of high‑risk non‑disabling ischemic cerebrovascular events, and whether additional imaging or biomarker criteria were required are not provided in the accessible abstract.
Enrolled patients were randomized in a 1:1 ratio to receive one of two dual antiplatelet regimens:
The abstract reports random assignment but does not include details about allocation concealment, stratification factors, or whether loading doses were used.
The primary outcome prespecified in the abstract was occurrence of early neurological deterioration (END) within 7 days after enrollment. The abstract does not define the operational threshold for END (for example, an increase in NIH Stroke Scale score or other neurological measures), nor does it list secondary endpoints such as recurrent ischemic events, functional outcomes (modified Rankin Scale), or longer‑term outcomes.
The trial is described as having blinded endpoint assessment, implying that outcome adjudicators were masked to treatment assignment. The abstract does not provide sample size calculations, effect size assumptions, alpha or power levels, planned statistical tests, or handling of missing data.
One stated aim of the study was to evaluate whether the ticagrelor plus aspirin regimen would reduce END without increasing bleeding risk. However, the abstract does not report how bleeding was defined or adjudicated (for example, using ISTH major/minor criteria or another classification), nor does it report actual bleeding rates or other adverse events.
The PubMed abstract available in the source is truncated and does not include outcome data, numerical results, or authors’ conclusions. Missing items in the accessible record include:
Because these elements are not reported in the accessible abstract, no efficacy or safety conclusions can be drawn from this source alone.
The study addresses an important clinical question: whether replacing clopidogrel with ticagrelor at a low dose in combination with aspirin can reduce very early neurological worsening after HR‑NICE without added bleeding risk. The rationale is biologically plausible given ticagrelor’s direct‑acting P2Y12 antagonism and independence from CYP2C19‑mediated activation.
However, the lack of reported outcome and safety data in the available PubMed abstract prevents assessment of magnitude of benefit, statistical significance, and applicability to clinical practice. Clinicians should seek the full published article to review sample size, primary and secondary results, bleeding outcomes, and subgroup analyses before changing practice.
Note on source completeness
All statements in this summary are drawn from the PubMed/NCBI abstract record for the trial. The abstract in the source is truncated and does not report trial results, numerical data, or detailed methods beyond those summarized above. Where the source omitted specific details (dose of aspirin, sample size, endpoint definitions, results), this summary explicitly notes that such details were not reported in the accessible record.