This PubMed entry documents a Clinical Trial report titled Azacitidine-Venetoclax or Induction Chemotherapy for Acute Myeloid Leukemia published in the New England Journal of Medicine. The article appeared on 3 September 2026 in volume 395 (pages 845–858). The PubMed identifier is 42685316 and the DOI supplied is 10.1056/NEJMoa2602804.
The PubMed record indicates the article type as a Clinical Trial and provides bibliographic metadata and persistent identifiers intended to facilitate retrieval of the full manuscript for detailed review.
The manuscript lists a large, multi-institutional author group with first authorship attributed to Amir T. Fathi and co–first or senior contributions from multiple investigators. Participating institutions named on the PubMed page include Mass General Brigham Cancer Institute at Massachusetts General Hospital (Harvard Medical School), Perelman School of Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania, Dana-Farber Cancer Institute, University of California Davis School of Medicine, Atrium Health Levine Cancer Institute (Wake Forest University), Ohio State University Comprehensive Cancer Center, Stanford Cancer Institute, Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center (Harvard Medical School), Yale University School of Medicine, City of Hope National Medical Center, Children’s Hospital Los Angeles, and the Fralin Biomedical Research Institute at Virginia Tech, among others.
The PubMed entry enumerates many contributing authors and their affiliations in full, reflecting a collaborative, multi-center clinical trial framework.
As stated in the title and PubMed record, the trial directly compares two therapeutic strategies for patients with acute myeloid leukemia (AML): the hypomethylating-agent–based combination regimen azacitidine-venetoclax versus conventional induction chemotherapy. The title indicates the trial is a head-to-head comparison; however, the excerpted PubMed content provided here does not include protocol-specific information (for example, eligibility criteria, dosing schedules, or stratification factors).
The PubMed page excerpt supplied contains bibliographic information, author and affiliation lists, and identifiers (PMID, DOI), but it does not include the abstract or the body of the manuscript in this view. Critical trial information is not present in the provided source text, including but not limited to:
Because these data elements are not reported in the excerpted PubMed content, no outcome statements, conclusions, or quantitative findings can be derived from the available source text. Any clinical interpretation requires consulting the full NEJM article or the complete PubMed abstract.
The trial title signals a clinically important comparison between an azacitidine-venetoclax regimen and standard induction chemotherapy for AML—an area of active interest for clinicians and guideline developers. Publication in the New England Journal of Medicine suggests the trial met criteria for high-impact dissemination, but the PubMed excerpt alone does not permit assessment of the trial’s validity, effect size, or applicability to specific patient subgroups.
Clinicians, clinical trialists, and policy-makers should review the full manuscript to evaluate endpoints (overall survival, event-free survival, remission rates), safety outcomes, subgroup analyses (age, fitness, genetic risk), and whether the trial supports changes in treatment paradigms.
To obtain complete trial methods and results, refer to the full NEJM article using the DOI 10.1056/NEJMoa2602804 or the PubMed record (PMID 42685316). The PubMed entry and DOI provide direct routes to the journal’s website or institutional access portals where the abstract and full text (or PDF) should be available. If institutional access is not available, consult interlibrary services or contact the corresponding authors listed in the full article for additional information.
Note: This summary is limited to the bibliographic and author information present in the provided PubMed excerpt. Specific trial outcomes, numerical results, and conclusions were not included in the source material and therefore are not reported here.