The PubMed record reports the article "Colonoscopy Intervals and Colorectal Cancer Incidence after Adenoma Removal," published in the New England Journal of Medicine in 2026 (volume 395, issue 11, pages 1051–1061). The DOI is 10.1056/NEJMoa2603816. The PubMed entry provides bibliographic metadata necessary for locating the journal publication.
The article lists a multinational author group. The lead author identified in the PubMed record is Rodrigo Jover, with affiliations including Servicio de Medicina Digestiva, Hospital General Universitario Dr. Balmis and the Instituto de Investigación Sanitaria y Biomédica de Alicante (ISABIAL) in Alicante, Spain, as well as the Departamento de Medicina Clínica, Universidad Miguel Hernández. Coauthors include investigators and clinicians from institutions in Norway, Denmark, Spain, Poland, the Netherlands, Austria, Portugal, and the United Kingdom. Specific contributing groups noted in the record include the Clinical Effectiveness Research Group at the University of Oslo and multiple gastroenterology, surgery, and oncology departments across Europe.
On PubMed the publication is classified as a Randomized Controlled Trial. The title and classification indicate the trial addresses timing or intervals of surveillance colonoscopy after adenoma removal and examines effects on colorectal cancer incidence. The PubMed record itself does not include detailed protocol elements in the captured source text (for example, allocation method, blinding, sample size calculation, or exact intervention arms).
The documented focus of the article is the relationship between surveillance colonoscopy intervals following polypectomy/adenoma removal and the subsequent incidence of colorectal cancer. This topic is central to secondary prevention strategies in colorectal neoplasia and to guideline recommendations about post-polypectomy surveillance, and it is reflected by the article title and its classification on PubMed.
The provided SOURCE JINA BODY includes the full citation, author list, affiliations, journal reference, and DOI but does not include the study abstract text, results, numerical outcomes, or the authors’ interpretations. Sections referenced on the PubMed page (Abstract, Publication types, MeSH terms, Associated data, Related information) were listed in the page navigation but their substantive content was not present in the captured excerpt.
Because outcome data and methods details were not included in the available source text, this summary does not report on trial findings such as hazard ratios, absolute incidence rates, confidence intervals, subgroup analyses, adverse events, or recommended surveillance intervals. Those specific data elements were not reported in the provided source material and therefore cannot be inferred or restated here.
The summary is constrained by the partial capture of the PubMed page. Key limitations in the available source content include:
When source material lacks these elements, accurate clinical interpretation or translation into practice is not possible from this excerpt alone.
To evaluate the trial’s design, results, and implications for clinical practice, consult the full NEJM article using the DOI 10.1056/NEJMoa2603816 or visit the PubMed abstract page for PMCID/PubMed entry. The PubMed entry and the journal site should contain the abstract, full text (subject to subscription or institutional access), tables and figures, trial registration details, and any supplementary data. Clinicians and guideline developers should review the complete report to determine whether the trial’s findings warrant changes to post-adenoma surveillance intervals.
Note: This rewrite is limited to information present in the SOURCE JINA BODY. Specific numerical results, authors’ conclusions, and other outcome data were not reported in the provided source excerpt and are therefore omitted here. For complete study details consult the original NEJM publication or the PubMed abstract page.