A briefing paper presented to the board of County Durham and Darlington Foundation Trust reported that a review of breast cancer care identified multiple instances of inappropriate surgical management. The trust stated that, among patients reviewed, 32 women received excessive surgery where a less extensive operation—a wide local excision—would have been appropriate.
Of those 32 women, the trust confirmed that 20 underwent mastectomy without clinical need. The briefing paper therefore identifies a substantial number of cases in which the extent of surgery exceeded what was judged necessary by the trust's review process.
The investigation described in the briefing focused on more than 500 cases of breast cancer care at the trust. From that review, the trust isolated a subgroup of patients who had received what it describes as excessive surgical treatment. The key numerical findings published by the trust were:
The source does not provide granular case-level details, such as the time period over which the cases occurred, age distribution, tumour characteristics, or which surgical teams were involved. Those additional details were not reported in the article.
In addition to findings about surgical overtreatment, the trust's internal review identified delayed diagnosis of breast cancer in 20 women. This finding arose from the same review process covering more than 500 cases, according to the briefing presented to the board.
The article does not report specific information about how delay was defined, the duration of delay, contributing factors, or clinical consequences for the affected patients. Those specifics were not included in the source material.
The trust has indicated that an internal review of other affected patients is ongoing. That continuing review includes cases referred through a helpline the trust established the previous year for people to come forward with concerns.
The published briefing and news item confirm that the helpline has contributed cases to the internal review, but they do not disclose the total number of callers, the outcomes of helpline contacts, the review methodology, or timelines for completion. The source did not report any follow-up actions, remedial measures, or governance responses beyond noting that the internal review is under way.
The BMJ report summarises the trust's briefing and highlights the principal findings: 32 instances of excessive surgery, including 20 mastectomies judged unnecessary, and delayed diagnosis in 20 women from a review of more than 500 cases. It also notes the ongoing internal review and that it includes people who contacted the trust via a helpline.
The article does not supply several important operational and clinical details. Specifically, the source did not report:
These omissions are matters of record in the source article. The BMJ item is a news summary of the trust's briefing and therefore reports the headline findings without presenting detailed case-level data or follow-up measures.
If clinicians, managers, or other stakeholders require more comprehensive information—such as the trust's full internal review report, timelines, or corrective actions—those were not provided in the source and would need to be sought from the trust's formal publications or public statements.
Published information
The BMJ article reporting these findings was authored by Emma Wilkinson and published as a news item on 21 September 2026. The trust named in the briefing is County Durham and Darlington Foundation Trust.
Note: where the BMJ brief did not include specific details (for example, patient-level outcomes, causes, or remedial steps), this rewrite indicates those items were not reported in the source rather than inferring them.