The Food and Drug Administration told a federal court that its ongoing safety review of the abortion medication mifepristone will continue into next year. In the filing, the agency said it expects to complete a safety study of the drug by mid-December and to issue a report on the findings "no later than March 2027." After the report is issued, the FDA said it will decide whether to impose new restrictions or make other changes to how the drug is used.
This statement was the first substantive update from the agency about the reevaluation that Health Secretary Robert F. Kennedy Jr. ordered. The update was made in response to a court order in litigation concerning the distribution of mifepristone.
In its filing, the FDA described the analytic approach it is using to identify potential safety signals. The agency said it is applying a statistical data mining method to an electronic database that aggregates reports of medical injuries and drug side effects from major health networks and insurers. The method is intended to discover "unknown safety concerns" that may exist with the drug.
Beyond the data mining effort and the safety study scheduled to finish by mid-December, the FDA noted that it is considering several petitions that request changes to prescribing and distribution practices for mifepristone. The filing did not disclose results of the safety study or specify which petition requests are under the strongest consideration. Those details were not reported in the source.
The safety review and the court update occur amid a broader legal and political dispute over access to mifepristone. The filing was provided in response to a case brought by the state of Louisiana, which argues that mail delivery of mifepristone undermines that state’s abortion ban. That case is among multiple lawsuits concerning the drug that are moving through the courts.
A three-judge panel of the 5th U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals recently questioned the merits of Louisiana’s lawsuit, including whether the state had the legal standing to challenge the FDA’s oversight of mifepristone. However, the U.S. Supreme Court has temporarily blocked changes to the drug’s availability while it considers the matter again, so any appellate decision would not immediately alter access to mifepristone.
Anti-abortion groups and some lawmakers have pushed the administration to reexamine the drug in hopes of curtailing its use. In the STAT News coverage of the Associated Press report, Gavin Oxley of Americans United for Life criticized the FDA’s timeline as a sign of inadequate leadership and said the administration was not sufficiently addressing what the group sees as ongoing harms caused by the pill.
The FDA’s historical position is part of the context for these reactions. The agency first approved mifepristone in 2000 and has repeatedly reaffirmed the medication’s safety and effectiveness. Over time the FDA eased several restrictions on the drug; one notable change was dropping a requirement that the drug be dispensed in person. The current two-drug regimen—mifepristone followed by misoprostol—remains the most common method of abortion in the United States.
According to the agency’s statement, completion of the safety study by mid-December will be followed by issuance of a report no later than March 2027. After that report is published, the FDA will determine whether regulatory actions—such as new restrictions on prescribing or distribution—are warranted. The agency’s consideration of petitions proposing changes to prescribing and distribution was also highlighted, but the filing did not specify which changes are being prioritized or the evidence that might prompt regulatory action.
Because litigation is ongoing and the Supreme Court has temporarily blocked alterations to the drug’s status pending further review, it is possible that court rulings will interact with the FDA’s timeline and any final regulatory decisions. The STAT News article relays the Associated Press’ reporting; it did not include results from the FDA’s safety study or specific decisions about potential changes, so those outcomes remain to be published by the agency.
All factual elements in this summary are drawn from the Associated Press report as presented in the STAT News article. The article’s author was identified as Matthew Perrone, and the piece notes that AP’s health and science coverage receives external financial support but that AP retains editorial responsibility. Specific study findings and the FDA’s final determinations were not included in the source and therefore are not reported here.