Hershey, Pa.-based Penn State Health reported an $131.2 million operating gain on $5 billion in revenue for the fiscal year that ended June 30, according to the system’s audited financial statements. The result represents a notable improvement from the prior fiscal year.
The source also notes that operating income climbed 77% year over year. The fiscal-year operating margin referenced in the report’s headline was 2.6%, while the underlying audited statements provided the operating gain, revenue and the percentage increase in operating income cited above.
The audited financial summary released by the system indicates stronger operating performance in FY2026 compared with the previous fiscal year. Key figures reported in the source are:
Beyond those items, the source did not provide a full set of line-item results, such as net income, expense categories, operating cash flow, or nonoperating gains and losses.
An operating gain and a positive operating margin indicate that a health system’s core patient-care activities produced more revenue than expenses during the fiscal year. For hospital systems, operating results affect capital spending capacity, debt service, credit ratings and strategic investments. The source’s figures suggest Penn State Health moved from a weaker operating position in the prior year to a materially improved operating outcome in FY2026, as reflected by the 77% rise in operating income.
The source did not spell out the drivers behind the improvement. Details such as changes in patient volumes, payer mix, reimbursement rates, cost controls, labor expenses, supply costs, or one-time items were not reported. The audited statements were cited as the source of the headline figures, but the article did not include management commentary or a breakdown by service line or facility.
The figures reported come from audited financial statements, which typically include comprehensive schedules and notes. However, the source article provided only select summary metrics. The following items were not reported by the source and therefore are not available here:
Because those details were not reported in the source, readers seeking a fuller financial picture should consult Penn State Health’s full audited financial statements or the system’s official financial disclosures.
The source article reported the headline metrics from Penn State Health’s audited statements: the operating gain of $131.2 million, total revenue of $5 billion, a 77% year-over-year increase in operating income and an operating margin cited at 2.6%. It did not provide itemized financial tables, management commentary, or explanations for the swing in operating performance.
The source did not include forward-looking guidance, plans for capital projects, balance-sheet actions, or management statements about priorities for the coming fiscal year. Any implications for credit ratings, capital spending, or strategic initiatives would require additional details that were not supplied in the source article.
For readers who want a deeper view of Penn State Health’s fiscal 2026 performance, the most reliable next steps are to review the health system’s complete audited financial statements and any accompanying management discussion and analysis. Those documents typically include a full accounting of revenue and expense categories, notes on one-time items, and management’s explanation of performance trends — items the source did not report.
Penn State Health’s audited results for the fiscal year ended June 30 show an operating gain of $131.2 million on $5 billion in revenue, with operating income up 77% from the prior year and a reported operating margin of 2.6%. The source article limits its reporting to these headline figures and does not provide the detailed breakdowns or management commentary that would explain the drivers behind the improvement.
Personalise this feed
Your specialty. Your sources. Your digest.
All set up in under 2 minutes.
Personalise this feed
Your specialty. Your sources. Your digest.
All set up in under 2 minutes.