The CAAN-AF trial, titled “Cardiac resynchronization therapy with or without atrioventricular node ablation in atrial fibrillation: the CAAN-AF trial,” addresses the clinical question of whether adding atrioventricular (AV) node ablation to cardiac resynchronization therapy (CRT) affects outcomes in patients with atrial fibrillation (AF) who are candidates for CRT. The trial is reported as a randomized controlled trial in the European Heart Journal.
The PubMed listing identifies the CAAN-AF trial as a randomized controlled trial published in Eur Heart J (2026 Sep 22;47(36):5128-5138) with DOI 10.1093/eurheartj/ehag206. The provided source excerpt does not include trial registration number, blinding status, randomization procedures, or trial timelines. Those details were not reported in the PubMed snapshot supplied and must be obtained from the full-text article or trial registry.
The published manuscript lists a large collaborative author group led by Prashanthan Sanders, with many coauthors across multiple institutions. Affiliations explicitly shown include the Centre for Heart Rhythm Disorders, Adelaide University, Central Adelaide Local Health Network, Waikato Clinical School (University of Auckland), Victorian Heart Institute (Monash University), and numerous other cardiology departments and hospitals across Australia, New Zealand, Germany and Malaysia. The multicentre nature of the author list suggests a broad enrolment network; specifics of participating sites and enrolment by site are not provided in the excerpt.
The PubMed excerpt does not report the trial’s inclusion or exclusion criteria, baseline patient characteristics, or the number of participants randomized. Information on heart failure status, left ventricular ejection fraction thresholds, AF type (paroxysmal, persistent, permanent), prior therapies, or comorbid conditions was not reported in the source content provided.
The title defines the comparison: CRT alone versus CRT plus AV node ablation in patients with AF. The PubMed record supplied does not describe device types, programming strategies, procedural protocols for AV node ablation, peri-procedural care, or whether adjunctive devices (for example, specific lead positions or conduction system pacing) were used. These intervention details were not reported in the source excerpt.
The PubMed excerpt does not specify primary or secondary endpoints, such as mortality, heart failure hospitalization, functional capacity, quality of life, echocardiographic reverse remodelling, ventricular pacing percentage, arrhythmia burden, or procedural complications. Readers should consult the full-text article for pre-specified endpoints and definitions.
No information about sample size calculation, statistical methods, handling of missing data, pre-specified subgroup analyses, or duration and completeness of follow-up is present in the supplied source content.
The PubMed page excerpt does not include the trial’s results, effect estimates, confidence intervals, p values, or adverse event data. Any statements about efficacy or safety based on this CAAN-AF trial cannot be made from the provided text; those data were not reported in the source excerpt.
Because the abstract and full results are not included in the provided PubMed snapshot, authors’ conclusions and the trial’s implications for clinical practice are not available here. Clinicians should review the published article in the European Heart Journal (linked from PubMed) to interpret the findings and consider how they might affect indications for AV node ablation in patients receiving CRT for AF.
This summary is limited to bibliographic metadata and the trial title as reported on PubMed. It does not contain methodological details, numerical results, or authors’ interpretations; those were not reported in the supplied source content. For clinical decision-making, guideline updates, or incorporation into practice, obtain and appraise the full-text article and any supplementary materials, and review related editorials or guideline statements.
The PubMed entry links to full-text options at the European Heart Journal and provides the DOI (10.1093/eurheartj/ehag206). To access complete methodology, results, tables, figures, and supplementary appendices, consult the journal site, institutional subscriptions, or interlibrary services. The PubMed page also lists author affiliations and the PMID, which can facilitate locating trial registration entries or datasets if publicly available.
References
The only source for this summary is the PubMed/NCBI citation record for the CAAN-AF trial (Eur Heart J. 2026 Sep 22;47(36):5128-5138. doi: 10.1093/eurheartj/ehag206). Details beyond bibliographic metadata and the manuscript title were not reported in the supplied source content.