The ULYSSES trial title compares ultrasound-guided versus conventional venous puncture techniques in the setting of atrial fibrillation ablation. The comparison addresses a procedural step commonly performed during catheter ablation for atrial fibrillation, where venous access technique may affect procedural safety and efficiency. The PubMed record identifies this investigation as a randomized controlled trial, indicating that patients were allocated prospectively to one of the two venous access strategies. Exact clinical hypotheses, primary or secondary endpoints, and predefined safety outcomes are not reported in the captured PubMed content.
The study is published in the European Heart Journal (Eur Heart J). The citation in the PubMed record shows publication date 22 September 2026, volume 47, issue 36, pages 5142–5151. The DOI listed is 10.1093/eurheartj/ehag291. The PubMed unique identifier is PMID 41979041. The record classifies the article type as a Randomized Controlled Trial.
The PubMed entry provides an extensive author list led by David Schaack and includes many co-authors such as Kyoung-Ryul Julian Chun, Kars Neven, Andreas Metzner, Christian Heeger, Reza Wakili, and others. Affiliations explicitly listed in the record include German centres and one international affiliation:
The PubMed record explicitly designates the report as a Randomized Controlled Trial. Beyond that classification, the PubMed excerpt captured here does not include the trial protocol, randomization methods, blinding status, or registration identifiers in the visible snippet.
The PubMed entry supplies the principal bibliographic identifiers needed to locate the full-text article: PMID 41979041 and DOI 10.1093/eurheartj/ehag291. These identifiers should be used to retrieve the full publication via the European Heart Journal website or institutional access services.
The provided PubMed content includes:
This information allows readers to confirm authorship, publication venue, and how to access the complete manuscript, but it does not substitute for the trial report itself.
The PubMed excerpt captured here does not contain the trial abstract text or any of the following study details:
Because these critical elements were not present in the captured PubMed content, no outcome data, effect sizes, or conclusions can be summarized from this source alone. Any attempt to report results or infer trial findings would require consulting the journal full text.
The PubMed record includes a link to full-text options at the journal site (European Heart Journal). To evaluate the study methods and results, readers should obtain the full article using the DOI (10.1093/eurheartj/ehag291) or PMID (41979041). Institutional subscriptions, library access, or the journal publisher site will provide the complete abstract, methods, results, tables, and authors' discussion that are not available in the PubMed snippet provided here.
Note: This rewrite is based solely on the content present in the provided PubMed record. Specific trial data and outcomes were not reported in that source excerpt and therefore are not included here.