The article reports an observational analysis from the SCOLTA cohort focused on adverse events occurring with long-acting injectable cabotegravir and rilpivirine in people living with HIV. The work is presented as a large multicentre prospective cohort study; the title indicates the aim was an analytical description of safety events associated with this long-acting antiretroviral regimen.
The bibliographic record identifies the study as published in HIV Research and Clinical Practice in 2026. Beyond the title and author list, the publicly available source snippet for this record does not include the abstract text or full study content in the provided material; therefore, specifics of the objective beyond what the title states cannot be extracted from this source.
The study is described as multicentre and prospective. The author and affiliation list shows broad participation across multiple Italian institutions, including university departments and infectious disease units in Genoa, Milan, Foggia, Turin, Monza, Sassari, Messina, Novara, Florence, Alessandria, Sanremo and other centres. The author group is reported as the CISAI Group with lead authors including Gaia Cologgi, Elena Ricci, and Antonio Di Biagio among others.
The provided metadata confirms a geographically diverse Italian contributor network, consistent with a multi-site observational cohort. The source record does not report the sample size, inclusion/exclusion criteria, baseline characteristics of participants, or enrolment period in the available content.
From the bibliographic entry we can confirm the study type as a prospective observational cohort investigation. The SCOLTA cohort is named in the title, indicating a pre-existing observational framework used to collect data on real-world use of the long-acting injectable combination cabotegravir plus rilpivirine.
No methodological details—such as the schedule of injections, monitoring protocol for adverse events, definitions or grading of adverse events, data collection procedures, analytic methods, or statistical plans—are provided in the portion of the PubMed record made available here. As a result, methods cannot be further summarized from this source.
The title identifies the focus on adverse events with long-acting cabotegravir and rilpivirine, but the provided source content does not include the abstract or results. Therefore, specific findings — for example, the types of adverse events observed, their frequency, severity, time to onset, any discontinuation rates, or management strategies — are not reported in the available record and cannot be reliably stated.
Clinicians and readers seeking numeric safety outcomes, subgroup analyses, or comparative safety data must consult the full article text or journal abstract; those details were not present in the material supplied here.
The publicly accessible PubMed/NCBI record excerpt provided for this study contains comprehensive bibliographic metadata (title, authors, affiliations, journal citation, PMID, DOI) but does not include the abstract text or study results in the excerpt supplied to this summary. Consequently, any attempt to describe event frequencies, statistical outcomes, or specific clinical recommendations would require access to the full article.
Where the source lacks reported information, this rewrite explicitly notes those absences rather than inferring results.
Based solely on the title and bibliographic metadata, the study undertook an analytical description of safety events with long-acting injectable cabotegravir and rilpivirine in people living with HIV within a large multicentre prospective cohort (SCOLTA). The publication likely contributes real-world safety data from multiple Italian infectious disease centres. However, the full clinical implications, conclusions drawn by the authors, and any recommendations for practice or further research are not available in the source excerpt and therefore are not reported here.
Notes on source limitations
This rewritten summary preserves the title, study type, participating institutions, and bibliographic identifiers reported on the PubMed record available here. The PubMed snippet supplied did not include the abstract body or the article full text; specific clinical data, adverse event rates, statistical outcomes, or detailed conclusions were not reported in the provided source material and therefore are not included in this summary. To review the study's detailed results and interpretations, consult the full article via the DOI or journal site.